Tuesday, 4 December 2012

The Metro - Art Nouveau

The Paris Métro or Métropolitain (French: Métro de Paris) is the rapid transit Metro system in Paris, France. It has become a symbol of the city, noted for its density within the city limits and its uniform architecture influenced by Art Nouveau. The network's sixteen lines are mostly underground and run to 214 km (133 mi) in length. There are 301 stations (384 stops), of which 62 facilitate transfer to another line.

Paris has one of the densest Metro networks in the world, with 245 stations within 86.9 km2 (34 sq mi) of the city of Paris. Lines are numbered 1 to 14, with two minor lines, 3bis and 7bis. The minor lines were originally part of lines 3 and 7 but became independent.  Lines are identified on maps by number and colour. Direction of travel is indicated by the destination terminus.

Paris is the second busiest metro system in Europe, after Moscow.  It carries 4.5 million passengers a day, and an annual total of 1.479 billion (2009).  Châtelet – Les Halles, with 5 Métro lines and three RER commuter rail lines, is the world's largest Metro (Subway) station.

The first line opened without ceremony on 19 July 1900, during the World Fair (Exposition Universelle). The system expanded quickly until the First World War and the core was complete by the 1920s. Extensions into suburbs (together with Line 11) were built in the 1930s.

Postcard no  - 292 (Alexandra)

Porte Dauphine (Maréchal de Lattre de Tassigny) is a station of the Paris Métro. It is the western terminus of Line 2. Nearby, one can transfer to the RER C at Avenue Foch station (with no direct transfer). Paris Dauphine University is nearby.

The station contains one of the only two remaining aedicules (an opening such as a door or a window, framed by columns on either side, and a pediment above) originally designed by Hector Guimard (1867–1942), the Art Nouveau architect who was originally commissioned by the Compagnie du Métropolitain de Paris (CMP) in 1899 to design the entrances for the Métro stations. (The other is at Abbesses.) 

The Porte Dauphine station was inaugurated on 13 December 1900. At the time, Line 2 had only been completed as far as Charles de Gaulle – Étoile. It now runs from Porte Dauphine around the northern part of Paris, through Montmartre, around to its eastern terminus at the Place de la Nation. It is named after Porte Dauphine, a gate in the 19th-century Thiers wall of Paris. Its subtititle honours Maréchal de Lattre de Tassigny.

The stamp has a stylized "Marianne" bust on it and bears the value "20g" (meaning 20 gram maximum).

No comments:

Post a Comment

Welcome. I love it when visitors comment - even if it's only to say "Hi, I've been here!"